About the Library

 

About the Library

 Library Calendar | Get a Library Card | My Account | Contact | Pay a Fine Online

640 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118 • Ph: 619-522-7390

Search the Library Catalog


Mission Statement

The mission of the Coronado Public Library is to meet the informational, recreational, and cultural needs of the community and to actively promote reading, life-long learning, and the pursuit of knowledge.

Library Staff

 Shaun Briley  Director  sbriley@coronado.ca.us  619-522-7395
 Glenn Risolo  Principal Librarian  grisolo@coronado.ca.us  619-522-2470
 Vy Tu  Senior Librarian, Technical Services  vtu@coronado.ca.us  619-522-2473
 Ivy Weston  Senior Librarian, Programs, Outreach & Marketing  iweston@coronado.ca.us 619-522-2482
 Elizabeth Skelly  Administrative Secretary  eskelly@coronado.ca.us  619-522-2475
 Christopher Morris  Library Technician, Circulation Services  cmorris@coronado.ca.us  619-522-2472
 Kelly Andrade  Special Collections Librarian  kandrade@coronado.ca.us  619-522-2478
 Nick Burmeister  Digital Media & Technology  Librarian  nburmeister@coronado.ca.us  619-522-2483
 Tara Davies  Teen Librarian  tdavies@coronado.ca.us  619-522-2488
 Natalie Stringer  Children's Librarian   nstringer@coronado.ca.us  619-522-2481
 Jacqueline Luna  Adult Services Librarian  jluna@coronado.ca.us  619-522-2479
 Maria Herrera  Accounting Technician  mherrera@coronado.ca.us  619-522-7392
 Candice Hooper Library Assistant III, Exhibits & Archives  chooper@coronado.ca.us  619-522-2476
       

Parking Options for the Coronado Public Library

Click here for a printable PDF. 
Parking Map

Library History

The Coronado Library was founded in 1890 by the Coronado Library and Free Reading Room Association.  It was supported for many years by gifts and fund raising.  In 1895, the Hotel del Coronado provided a small, rent-free pavilion building for the "Coronado Beach Library", which was located by the trolley stop across the street from the hotel.  John D. Spreckels, then owner of the Hotel del Coronado, was later asked by the Coronado Library Trustees to build a permanent library building.  Mr. Spreckels agreed and had architect Harrison Albright design and build a classical revival library building on the West Plaza Park in 1909. 
 
The library building was given by John D. Spreckels to the City of Coronado and the people of Coronado.  The building still stands at 640 Orange Avenue.  This original building serves as the Spreckels Reading Room within the 40,000 square feet remodeled and expanded library building.
 
The Library includes study space at tables and carrels, lounge seating, wireless Internet access, a large public meeting room and smaller conference room, separate Children's Library and Teen area, an Exhibit Gallery, public-access computers and collections in various subjects and formats. A used bookstore, the Second Hand Prose, is operated by the Friends of the Library.

Library Data 2020

Library Data 2020

Download Ask Coronado App